

## **INDIAN CRYOGENICS COUNCIL**

(Registration No: S 16588 of 1975-1976 dt. 04. 09. 1975)

(Regd. Office: Jadavpur University, Calcutta- 32)

# Minutes of the Meeting of the Executive Committee of the ICC held during NSCS28 in IITKgp (October 18, 2022, time: 6.30pm to 8.00pm)

After Covid-19, it was a gap of alomost 3 years that the EC meeting took place in an offline mode.

#### List of attendees is below:

Professor M.D. Atrey (Chair) President (Professor and Dean (R&D), IIT Bombay)

Dr. T.S. Datta
Chief-Editor (Visiting Professor,IIT Kharagpur),LOC NSCS28

Dr. R.G. Sharma
Vice President (Ex-Scientist, NPL, IUAC New Delhi)

Professor H.B. Naik
Vice President (Professor, SVNIT Surat)

Professor Sunil Sarangi Vice President (Ex- Director, NIT Rourkela, Professor CV

Raman Global University, Bhubaneshwar)

Dr. Soumen Kar
Secretary (Technical) (Scientist, IUAC, Delhi)

Dr. Tamal Bhattacharyya Secretary(Administration)(Scientific Officer, VECC Kolkata)

Dr. Uttam Bhunia Treasurer (Scientific Officer, VECC, Kolkata)
Dr.V.Narayanan Member (Director, LPSC/ISRO, Trivandrum)

Professor S.C.Sarkar Member (Director, CRCT, Jadavpur University, Kolkata)

• Dr. Tushar Bhowmick Member (Director, Tudinous Kryos Pvt.Ltd Delhi)

Professor. P.S.Ghosh Member(Professor CEC, IIT Kharagpur), Convener, NSCS28

• Dr. Mukesh Goyal Co-opted Member (O/G, CrTD, BARC, Mumbai)

Professor Subimal Saha Co-opted Member (Ex-Project Director, VECC, Kolkata)
Professor P. Sandilya Organizing Secretary, NSCS28 (Professor CEC, IIT Kharagpur)
Dr. V. Adyam Chairman, NSCS28 (Professor & Head CEC, IIT Kharagpur)

Dr.T.S.Radhakrishnan Invitee (Ex-IGCAR, Kalpakkam)

• Dr.S.Kasthurirengan Invitee (Professor, CCT, IISc, Bangalore)



### **INDIAN CRYOGENICS COUNCIL**

(Registration No: S 16588 of 1975-1976 dt. 04. 09. 1975)

(Regd. Office: Jadavpur University, Calcutta- 32)

1. Prof. M.D. Atrey warmly welcomed the EC members to the meeting.

#### **Deliberations**

Varous agendas were then taken up before the committee members, which are summed up below:

- 2. EC recommended that the FD in the ICC West Zone may be transferred from Saraswat Bank to SBI once it gets matured in view of the fund security. The West Zone has got all the necessary documents for opening the bank account in SBI.
- 3. **Discussion on new ICC Fellow:** Following candidates were recommended by the fellow committee for the award of ICC Fellow
  - Professor Kanchan Chowdhury, IIT Kharagpur
  - Professor Tridib Kumar Goswami, IIT Kharagpur

Considering immense contribution to Cryogenics field by Prof. Kanchan Choudhury, who recently superannuated from IITKgp, the EC endorsed Professor Kanchan Chowdhury's candidature for the ICC Fellow.

- 4. **ICC accounts presentation FY 2021-22**: ICC accounts were presented by the treasurer Dr. Uttam Bhunia. He informed that tax returns were filed by the Kolkata based auditor.
- 5. **Expenditure of ICC funds accumulated**: It was decided that there would be a separate committee comprising of Mr. Parag Kulkarni, Dr. Soumen kar and Dr. Uttam Bhunia which would propose the best possible way to deploy the accumulated funds of ICC. The proposal will be reviewed by the EC for necessary implementation.
- 6. **Status Report of NSCS28:** Prof. V. Adyam, Prof. Sandilya, Prof. P. Ghosh and Prof. T. S. Datta briefed the EC regarding the arrangements and preparations of the NSCS28. They also informed that 220 abstracts were received.
- 7. **Best paper awards:** A jury committee was formed by the EC for the best contributory paper awards. Dr. T.S. Radhakrishnan was made the Chairman of the jury committee and following committee members were proposed:
  - Professor Sunil Sarangi
  - > Dr. S. Kasthurirengan
  - > Dr. Subimal Saha



### INDIAN CRYOGENICS COUNCIL

(Registration No: S 16588 of 1975-1976 dt. 04. 09. 1975)

(Regd. Office: Jadavpur University, Calcutta- 32)

The chairman of the session recommended the papers to the jury committee. It was decided that 5-6 best papers were to be awarded.

The awards are to be announced during the concluding session of the NSCS28.

- 8. **Hosting of NSCS29 in 2024 and its venues:** Dr. Soumen Kar proposed to the EC that IUAC, New Delhi, would like to host the NSCS in 2024. In the absence of any other contender for hosting the NSCS29, it was decided that the NSCS29 would be held by IUAC, New Delhi, North Zone.
- Discussion on the tenure of present EC members for 2022-2024: It was discussed and decided that the present EC members will continue one more tenure-2022-2024.
  Proposal for the same will be put forward in the AGM to be held on 19<sup>th</sup> October 2022 during the NSCS28.
- 10. Renaming of NSCS (National Symposium on Cryogenics & Superconductivity) to NCCS (National Conference on Cryogenics & Superconductivity): Dr. Soumen Kar informed that many Ph.D. students do not get any benefit by publishing their papers in the IJC as they are considered as the proceedings of the symposium. Ph.D. ordinance of the most of the universities actually need a publication in the conference proceedings. Considering the benefits for the Ph.D. students and also the growth of ICC membership over a period of time, the EC recommended to change the name of the symposium to Conference from the next conference. The proposal will be put forward in the AGM to be held on 19<sup>th</sup> October 2022 during the NSCS28.
- 11. Prof. Atrey informed that SAC (ISRO) Ahmedabad would like to organize a 1–2-day workshop during 2023 on 'small' Cryogenics. ICC West Zone and SAC(Ahmedabad) would organize this event. They shall inform about the date of the event later. The EC appreciated the proposal and approved the same.

The meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the Chair.